Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Home Roasting Talk
Opinions about how long to wait between roasting and brewing?
Stefano's Espresso Care
Repair - Parts - Sales
Factory Authorized &
Trained Technician
www.espressocare.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Home Roast > Opinions about...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
jlt3b

Expertise: I like coffee

Espresso: Mini Vivaldi II, old...
Grinder: Baratza Vario
Drip: Hario V60, Clever Coffee...
Posted Sun Sep 30, 2012, 12:24pm
Subject: Opinions about how long to wait between roasting and brewing?

Hi everyone,

After much reading and deliberating, despite being a home roaster newbie, I opted to order a Behmor 1600 yesterday.  

I would like opionions and experiences from those of you who have been roasting for a while.  From many things that i've read, my understanding is that coffee/espresso flavors are best after they've been allowed to off-gas for a period of time (eg, 2-3 days). However, i've read posts from people stating that they've brought their home roasting appliance (popper, FreshRoast, Behmor, etc) to friend's houses for dinners or parties, roasted beans right there on site, and served them during the dinner party.  These posts seem to suggest that everyone at the dinner party absolutely loves the fresh roasted beans, and that some of them have been converted to home roasters...

What are your opinions about drinking fresh roasts immediately? How many of you off-gas for 1 day, 2 days, 3 days, etc?  I realize that this is influenced by the type of coffee bean and how the roast was done, but i'd appreciate your generalizations.

Thanks!
 View Profile Link to this post
randychar813
randychar813
Expertise: Professional