Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Home Roasting Talk
Have Pavoni, good local roaster.  Should I home roast?
Rancilio Silvia - How to
Step by step guide for easy brewing and steaming with the Rancilio Silvia
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Home Roast > Have Pavoni,...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
driggers

Expertise: I live coffee

Posted Fri Jan 11, 2013, 1:39am
Subject: Have Pavoni, good local roaster.  Should I home roast?

I have been brewing espresso on my Pavoni for 4 years, and in Victoria, BC, we have a top notch roaster, Discovery Coffee (you might argue that we have a few other great ones too, but this is consistently my favourite.).  So economics and experiment are my only motivations.

I am afraid that I might not get the quality I'm used to with, say, the Behmor 1600.  If there is anything wrong with a roast/bean, the Pavoni (aka chrome peacock) will tell you, and I'd hate to make a $400 investment to find that I can't learn to produce something I want to drink.

We consume about 1lb per week, which costs $16.  Looks like 18lbs of green coffee will cost me $140 with shipping, which is $7.78.  (16-8)*52 = 416 says that this should pay off in about 1 - 1.5 years (assuming I make mistakes, do some experimentation).

But will the roast be up to snuff?  Will I get nice crema, sweetness, boldness that I can from my local roaster?

Thanks.
 View Profile Link to this post
farmroast
farmroast
Expertise: Professional

Espresso: Strega,Cremina, MCAL...
Grinder: Majors, Dienes
Vac Pot: Hellem10
Drip: CCD, and more
Roaster: 1kg. DreamRoast
Posted Fri Jan 11, 2013, 7:29am
Subject: Re: Have Pavoni, good local roaster.  Should I home roast?