Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Home Roasting Talk
Looking to build my first coffee roaster; found this mesh drum lying around
Home Espresso Machines
Watch videos with Gail & Kat, Rocket, Jura Capresso, Saeco, Rancilio, Quick Mill, Nespresso
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Home Roast > Looking to build...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
MiniMalady

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Tue Feb 5, 2013, 9:42pm
Subject: Looking to build my first coffee roaster; found this mesh drum lying around

Hey guys, I'm new to coffee roasting and want to get started with a roaster of my own creation. I was thinking of trying a heat gun / dog bowl or bread mixer setup, but then I found this large mesh drum in my cabinet. I'm not really sure what it was designed to do, but it looks like it would make an excellent drum for coffee roasting. I also found a turbine blower that's more or less a leaf blower motor to use for cooling.

I think it was made to sustain some pretty high temps, as it's obviously cookware of some sort. I put it over a flame for a while to see if any smoke, melting, or strange smells occurred. I didn't see any evidence that there was a coating or anything fuming, but is there something else I should do to ensure that it will sustain the kind of heat involved with coffee roasting?

Also, I'm wondering what my approach should be now. Could I still use a heat gun and just mount the drum somewhere and apply the heat as I rotate it? Should I consider using it over a grill? Space heater contraption? What would you guys do? Is there any way to tell what sort of capacity I'm looking at once I figure out the roast method?