Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Home Roasting Talk
Home Roasted Beans - Something is Wrong
Find the Right Machine...
Package deals on the best machines from Izzo, Quick Mill, Rocket, La Marzocco & more.
www.clivecoffee.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Home Roast > Home Roasted...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
Maddie

Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: Rancilio Silvia
Grinder: Baratza Preciso
Vac Pot: N/A
Drip: Prefer Moka Pot
Roaster: Toaster Oven Drum
Posted Fri Mar 1, 2013, 5:23pm
Subject: Home Roasted Beans - Something is Wrong

I'm new to home espresso making. I have a Rancilio Silvia and a Baratza Precisio grinder. I started out using fresh roasted beans from a local micro roaster. I pulled good shots very quickly largely because I had done a lot of "how to" research before purchasing my machine.

The first time I tried roasting I used a fry pan. Burned the first batch to a crisp, but the 2nd batch made the best espresso shots I have ever had. Hondouras beans. I was hooked on roasting my own right away.

Recently, I purchased a rotisserie drum off the net, and roasted beans in my convection toaster oven. The beans look better than anything I have roasted in the fry pan. But, even with the grinder on the finest setting, the puck is so dry no matter how hard I tamp, it just falls out of the portafilter when I tip the filter over. Also, the shots come out far too fast. They just gush out now, and I get a ton of very light weak fluffy foam that dissipates immediately.