Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Home Roasting Talk
What should be areas of focus for someone new to roasting?
Gourmet Organic Coffee
Temblor is a smooth high-grown Guatemalan coffee that presents notes of spice and chocolate.
thelostgringo.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Home Roast > What should be...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
TapeDeck

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Tue Apr 2, 2013, 4:04pm
Subject: What should be areas of focus for someone new to roasting?

I'm very new to roasting... I've done 3 batches--heat gun and dog bowl.

1). Too light, and took to long, so I think I was baking it too much.
2). Much better even-ness of color, much better on time, but still too light (like, decent diner coffee... not enough depth)
3). Changed beans, thought I got the color better, and the initial flavor is better, but there's some sort of green-ness to the flavor... a little like the smell of the beans unroasted... I may just not like these beans as much.

3 batches, so I'm basically a total newbie.  Anything that is worth learning, takes time, so I'm perfectly content knowing I have a lot to learn.

But I am wondering if there are variables I should be playing with, or suggestions from any of you folk.  I'd heard some people saying that one might want to go through the beans and segregate out coffee beans that have problems, etc.  Do you folks do that?  Just sort of curious what I should be pointing my attention at, apart from "Stir, apply heat, cool quickly" etc.  Are there any books you guys recommend?
 View Profile Link to this post
IMAWriter
IMAWriter
Expertise: I live coffee

Espresso: Bezzera Strega
Grinder: Forte, Preciso/Esatto, KyM...