Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Home Roasting Talk
What am I doing wrong? Heat gun dog bowl method...
Support Coffee Kids
Coffee Kids is a non profit charity working with farming communities around the world. Donate today!
www.coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Home Roast > What am I doing...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
JD123

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Wed Apr 2, 2014, 5:25am
Subject: What am I doing wrong? Heat gun dog bowl method...

I'm new to home roasting, and have done the HGDB method exclusively. I've tried different roast times, "profiles", bowls, and they all generally have one flaw which is a bad aftertaste.

I use an Baratza Encore grinder, and the beans smell great after grinding. I've done multiple brew methods (french press, pour over, even K-cup, and they all have this same bad aftertaste. When reading through forums it seem everyone has been really successful with this method but me, so I must be doing something wrong. Here is my general method:

I do small 80-100g batches since I'm experimenting and don't want to waste beans from a bad roast
Drop beans in bowl, put heat gun on high and hold a few inches away from beans while stirring constantly
Within 1-2 minutes, chaff starts flying and yellowing begins
First crack is usually hit around 6 minutes
I back off with the gun once first crack starts, continue stirring for additional 3-5 minutes until 2nd crack starts
Stop roast and cool very quickly. I typically have a very even roast in appearance.