Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Machines and Brewing Methods
Aerobie Aeropress
Jebana from Ethiopia
Ultra Low Tech, for the CoffeeGeek with everything. Beautiful, and Functional too.
www.coffeeproject.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Machines > Aerobie...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 141 of 294 first page | last page previous page | next page
Author Messages
techylah

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Thu Dec 6, 2007, 8:50am
Subject: Aeropress - The MAIN reason it's better

OK, I've been using the Aeropress for almost two years.  It's my best kept secret.  Guests rave about my coffee.  Trivial to blow away starbucks with this thing.
My question was WHY?
At first I thought it was mainly the limiting of brewing to the first 10 seconds.
That's important, as is having great beans (Celebes Kalossi for me) and grinding right before brewing.
I'm now pretty sure it's none of the above, but rather, the filter.

Is the  Aeropress the ONLY machine to use MICRO filters rather than macro (?) ones?
I really think this is responsible for the bulk of the quality difference between Aeropress coffee and any other brewer.

That being said, does anyone know of another brewer, perhaps with larger capacity hopefully, that uses micro filters?

I have 4 or 5 guests.  They each know if I make a single cup for them, it's awesome.
Must I do 3 or 4 Aeropressings?

Alan, if you're listening, can you invent a larger, French press type brewer with 10-12 cup capacity?
I know you'd need double size micro filters, and that would require four times the plunger pressure, but come on!
You've done something incredible once! Figure it out and do it again!