Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Machines and Brewing Methods
Brikka Theory
Rancilio Silvia - How to
Step by step guide for easy brewing and steaming with the Rancilio Silvia
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Machines > Brikka Theory  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
SirCharles

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Fri Feb 3, 2012, 10:56pm
Subject: Brikka Theory

Hello, curious what others here think about this...

I'm new to the Brikka, and while it seems to be a promising way of making a good cup of coffee, it certainly seems to be a finicky device. In playing with it, I've had some insights that I'd like to share, one of them being that if it is effectively a pressure cooker, how does it get around the superheated water not burning the grounds?

I've attached a picture of the Brikka. Actually, the design I have is the improved model; there is no funnel gasket, the funnel is SS, and the lid has a hole on the top for steam to escape. Oh, and there is no water cup, you put water up to an H2O mark in the top part and pour it into the bottom part.