Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Machines and Brewing Methods
Guide a novice to a proper grinder
Cafe Espresso Machines
Video reviews, nationwide installation, leasing options... Nuova Simonelli, Rancilio, La Marzocco.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Machines > Guide a novice...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
mkeller234

Expertise: I like coffee

Posted Thu Dec 27, 2012, 12:53am
Subject: Guide a novice to a proper grinder

I know this subject has been done to death, and believe me, I have done a lot of reading.  After all of this, my brain is swimming.

Just a little background info:
I'm not new to coffee, I am new to caring about my coffee.  I started with a Bodum Chambord press, now I need a grinder.  My first instinct was to run out to target and get one of those ubiquitous blade grinders... after a bit of research, I am glad that I did not.  I like the idea of simple methods producing great things.  I've really enjoyed dipping into the world of coffee, it's much larger than I thought.  I can see myself trying other methods someday, like Chemex, Aeropress or maybe Vacuum.  I'm right up the street from a nice place called Muggswigz Coffee and tea, I believe a few of the employees have posted here once or twice.