Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Machines and Brewing Methods
A Quality Grinder for Pour Over Coffee Under $200? Can it Be Done??
Rancilio Silvia - How to
Step by step guide for easy brewing and steaming with the Rancilio Silvia
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Machines > A Quality...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 4 last page next page
Author Messages
slurpy

Expertise: Professional

Posted Sun May 19, 2013, 12:53pm
Subject: A Quality Grinder for Pour Over Coffee Under $200? Can it Be Done??

Dear Lovely Forum Folk-

I am a coffee professional of 5 years, and to this day, I struggle with at-home cupping as limited by my inadequate grinder. At present, I use a Hario Mini Mill. I do so because a little elbow grease has always been worth the dramatic price reduction when compared to electric models with the same grind consistency, and at the time of purchase, $40 was about all I was prepared to spend on a home grinder. Read: young, broke barista. So my choice of the Mini Mill was out of ignorance: at the time of purchase, I did not understand that $40 was an insufficient budget for the quality I was looking for, and I was also misdirected considerably through internet discussions by coffee laypersons whose needs I now understand are far, far simpler than my own. Through much experimentation, I've found that the inconsistency in particle size from the Mini Mill is simply unacceptable for meaningful feedback on a given coffee.  

What I am looking for instead: