Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Machines and Brewing Methods
Questions on a Technivorm
Donate to Coffee Kids
Coffee Kids works with farming communities around the world, improving lives. Donate today.
www.coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Machines > Questions on a...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
ajrunr

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Wed Jan 29, 2014, 11:20pm
Subject: Questions on a Technivorm

I got a Technivorm for my birthday. Hooray me! Sort of. Hard to 'complain' about a free, very nice coffee maker, but I'm an engineer and I analyze everything.

My friends bought me a Technivorm Grand with Glass Carafe Link at Williams-Sonoma

I've always eyed a Technivorm, but not this one. Actually, never knew that model existed. There's very few reviews on it. Technivorm's site has limited info on it too. The William-Sonoma site is the best (and where my friends bought it).
The one I've always looked at was the Technivorm Moccamaster KB-741

Main Differences I can tell:
  1. Grand is $70 more expensive ($350 vs $280)
  2. Grand holds 1.8L vs 1.2L
  3. Grand has a flat filter basket, vs. the KB741 having a Cone

Do I return the Grand and get the other?

Questions:
  1. Why is it more expensive? Just the capacity?
  2. Flat vs. cone (age old question)?  This I'm very, very curious on. Very strange that the Technivorm makes their "expensive" model with flat filters, and the other ones with cones. (part of me thinks that this is because the Grand seems to state that it is designed to make a full pot for best results, making me think that the cone gives more options...which makes me not want the Grand?)