Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Machines and Brewing Methods
Grinder for auto drip machine
Green Unroasted Coffee
Free shipping. Save 15% on variety pack, use 'variety' at checkout
www.madbeanscoffee

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Machines > Grinder for auto...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
nicholasr

Expertise: I live coffee

Posted Mon Mar 31, 2014, 1:00pm
Subject: Grinder for auto drip machine

Throwing this out to the forums in hope for a bit of assistance in picking a new grinder.  I have very little experience in drip coffee, or what level grinder is suitable or necessary (without being overkill) for filter drip grinding *only*.   I already own a Mini Mazzer electronic for my Quick Mill Ventrano, so I don't ever expect to need to use this grinder for espresso.  I might occasionally use it for grinding french press for camping or something, but its a really secondary use, and it doesn't need to be ideal for that.

This is for occasional usage at a second home, that will also see other guests possibly using it.  It will be paired with a Bonavita BV1800.  I'm hoping for a < $200 grinder and it just seems like there is a lot of junk out there.  The Baratza grinders caught my eye, but the Encore seemed plasticy and slow, and the virtuoso perhaps a bit more than I want to spend.

Any other ideas in this realm of real world price point coffee grinders?
 View Profile Link to this post
calblacksmith
calblacksmith

Espresso: ECM Vene. A1, La Cimbali M32
Grinder: Azkoyen Capriccio, Major
Vac Pot: 40s era Silex
Drip: Msl. Com. brewers
Roaster: gave it a try, decided no
Posted Mon Mar 31, 2014, 1:20pm
Subject: Re: Grinder for auto drip machine

Welcome to the board.