Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Machines and Brewing Methods
Grinding my beans
Support Coffee Kids
Coffee Kids is a non profit charity working with farming communities around the world. Donate today!
www.coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Machines > Grinding my...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 7 last page next page
Author Messages
emperor1563

Expertise: I like coffee

Posted Sat May 3, 2014, 12:16am
Subject: Grinding my beans

Hi all, just joined the forum, I'm a complete amateur when it comes to making fresh coffee, I already had espresso machine drip coffee machine *not really expensive one's). But I wanted my coffee from the bean, so I just bought a grinder, only spent 25 on it, it's just one of these Click Here (www.currys.co.uk)!3391!3!36525120204!!!g!64556289444!&ef_id=U2PhUwAAAdHQQd6F:20140503070926:s I understand you should spend more on the grinder, but can't really afford it. It has coarseness settings on it, so a light pops up under a specific coarseness after a certain amount of time, I quickly realised this was a gimmick and just didn't work, so after the first disaster I've been looking at pictures online, and doing it by eye, but I'm struggling to get it right, there have been a few times, it didn't taste as if it came through right on the drip coffee machine, and it seems like a lightish brown colour, they're getting better I think, when I first made a latte on the espresso machine, as I took the bit with the ground coffee off (not sure what that's called) it exploded onto the drip tray, it tasted okay, but I'm guessing I did something wrong there as well. Are there any tips you could give me to get my coffee ground right, thanks