Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Machines and Brewing Methods
Bunn temperature comparisons
Learn @seattlecoffeegear
Learn all about coffee, watch videos, read how-to articles.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Machines > Bunn temperature...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
Rocker66

Expertise: I live coffee

Espresso: Rancilio Silvia
Grinder: Baratza Virtuoso / Vario
Vac Pot: Mocha Express/Aeropress
Drip: Bonavita/Pour over
Roaster: Behmor 1600
Posted Thu Jun 19, 2014, 2:26am
Subject: Bunn temperature comparisons

Good morning all. I've been doing some temperature analysis on the two Bunn's I have, A10-A (1980's) and the NHB. I've been using the NHB for a few years and have been fairly happy with it. It replaced the A10 as I liked the NHB aesthetics better and it allowed for easy pre-infusion. I like the Bunn for it's always on feature giving a fairly "consistent" water temperature. I quote consistent as you will see in a few and part of what led me to this whole analysis. I'm probably going to have to do this in a few posts just for time's sake.

I hate to admit it, but I'm one of those that's always looking for the next best thing. Knowing what I have is pretty good, I always feel there is another step higher. For instance, I have a Silvia espresso machine. Great machine, but I knew putting a PID on it would make it that much better. Plus it's cool. Everyone knows there are plenty of other variables besides water temp, but that eliminates one of the major variables and allowed me to focus on the dose and grind.