Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Questions and Answers
Portable Coffee
Learn @seattlecoffeegear
Learn all about coffee, watch videos, read how-to articles.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Q and A > Portable Coffee  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
ScientificBarista

Expertise: I live coffee

Posted Tue Aug 22, 2006, 10:00am
Subject: Portable Coffee

Hi There,

I'm a newbie to this site and was hoping to find an answer here.  If you're interested in background at all, I know more than your average Joe about a cup of joe (Ha! ...anyone?).  

My question in simplest form:  Can anyone recomend a good travel mug/thermos/leakproof container for coffee?

I've gone through a few different stainless steel varieties.  I always end up throwing them away after a few months because they simply make my delicious coffee taste awful.  I assume it would help if I didn't put the cream in the container (just the coffee), but the whole point of the thing is to be able to get your beverage ready and GO.  I don't think I can keep a container of half and half at home, the lab, the office, etc.   I've tried washing in baking soda, to no helpful effect.    On that note, if you have any cleaning suggestions, I'd be grateful for those also.  

Thank you for your help...
 View Profile Link to this post
EddieDove
EddieDove

Espresso: Gaggia Carezza
Grinder: Mazzer Mini, Dienes
Vac Pot: Yama w/ Cory Glass Rod,...
Drip: Technivorm, Chemex, Bodum...
Roaster: RKDrum, Behmor, Gene Cafe,...
Posted Tue Aug 22, 2006, 10:18am
Subject: Re: Portable Coffee

Mandy,