Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Questions and Answers
K.I.S.S. Cafetiere -- "French Press" Newbie
Saeco Espresso Machines
Large selection in-stock, includes Free Gifts and Free Shipping!
www.espressozone.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Q and A > K.I.S.S....  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
Cafetiere

Posted Sat Jan 12, 2008, 9:46pm
Subject: K.I.S.S. Cafetiere -- "French Press" Newbie

Newbie here . . .  Let me confess to never having bought coffee for the house until this afternoon. I like French roast, and have been content to buy it over the counter from the local barista.

A friend of mine Lisa, while we were editing her MA thesis, got me into "espresso" from what I remember as being a Krups "retail  home espresso maker"  -- like 15 yrs ago.

Nothing complicated, the beans got ground at the point of purchase. The espresso maker was steam driven and likely not developing the requisite 9 bar. We mixed the end product with Swiss Miss cocoa . . .  No crema, and Lisa aced the thesis.

I like French roast and chocolate -- along with what I call "candy creamers" . . . You know, the "French Vanilla, Irish Creme,  Mocha. Yeah, I know . . . blasphemy. I used to get a 60 oz cup of Macademia roast at 7-11, add a dozen "candy creamers" and two pkgs of Swiss Miss, toss a straw in the cup and hop on the bus. I called it "rocket fuel" and used it to "launch my day."

By the time I got to the U. I was ready to teach my classes. -- or fly jet fighters in defense of freedom and democracy.