Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Questions and Answers
Testing Bodum Bistro Electric Burr Coffee Grinder with French Press
Cafe Espresso Machines
Video reviews, nationwide installation, leasing options... Nuova Simonelli, Rancilio, La Marzocco.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Q and A > Testing Bodum...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
zsa

Expertise: Just starting

Grinder: Bodum Bistro Burr Grinder
Posted Tue Sep 18, 2012, 11:48am
Subject: Testing Bodum Bistro Electric Burr Coffee Grinder with French Press

I'm relatively new at this coffee business, and I have a few questions.

I received my Bodum Bistro Electric Burr Coffee Grinder yesterday and I tested it out with a coffee I've never had before, Sidamo Watadara from Blue Bottle.

When I grounded the coffee using the french press setting I had the grind I expected and quite a bit of this "flaky" output. See attached. I remember having a few of these when I was using a Hario hand grinder but I don't recall it being that much. My friend said she noticed this being more common in Blue Bottle Coffee than with other beans she has tried. Is there something wrong with my grinder (I don't really want to buy another set of whole beans yet) or is this something to do with the beans? By the way the beans were roasted 2 days ago, September 16th.