Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Questions and Answers
My pourover never turns out as good as in a cafe. Help me problem solve!
Find the Right Machine...
Package deals on the best machines from Izzo, Quick Mill, Rocket, La Marzocco & more.
www.clivecoffee.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Q and A > My pourover...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
mhession

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Fri Oct 12, 2012, 6:27pm
Subject: My pourover never turns out as good as in a cafe. Help me problem solve!

Hi guys.

I have been home-brewing for about 6 months now, and I have been experimenting, learning, researching, and tasting to try and produce a great cup using a Hario V60 pourover. But for some reason, I have NEVER been able to equal the kind of sweet, fruity, amazing taste I get from a good coffee shop here in NYC such as Gimme Coffee or Toby's Estate. Here is my usual routine:

- using fresh beans from either Toby's Estate, Blue Bottle, Stumptown, or Gimme Coffee (I have loved the Kenyan AA Kaiguri the most)
- grind using Baratza Virtuoso (I will get to the grind setting later)
- 200 degree water
- V60 02
- Hario pouring kettle
- 23 grams of coffee to 300ml of water

Now, I have tried a few variations in how I brew. The first is using about a 10 setting on the Virtuoso and pouring all the water into the cone (after a 30 second bloom with ~30 ml of water). The second variation uses a Virtuoso setting of 20, and  involves pouring in small increments and letting the water drain some each time, never letting the water level rise too high.