Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Questions and Answers
Slightly Sour Coffee
Commercial Equipment
Nuova Simonelli, La Marzocco, Rancilio. Nationwide installation. Instant financing options.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Q and A > Slightly Sour...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
HorsemanSix

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Sun Apr 21, 2013, 10:23am
Subject: Slightly Sour Coffee

Hello Everyone,

I'm fairly new to working with new techniques of brewing coffee and I've run into an issue. I recently ordered "The Heavy" whole beans from barefoot. I brewed a cup of coffee the day after receiving the beans and the flavor was fantastic. However, over the next couple days I haven't been able to recreate that same taste and the coffee tastes slightly sour. I'm note quite sure what I'm doing wrong. Below you will find my setup,

Bodum Bistro French Press
Bodum Burr Grinder (Not the best grinder out there but it seemed to get fairly decent reviews. I'll be upgrading to a Virtuoso soon)
Electric Kettle with temperature

My method for 24 ounces of coffee,

Boil water (212 degrees and let settle)
6 Heaping tablespoons of coffee after grinding
Put the coffee in the french press right after grinding and pour in the water, slowly (water settles to a temperature between 204 and 208)
Let the coffee sit for about two minutes and then use a wooden chopstick to stir the grounds
Wait for another two minutes and then plunge the coffee slowly
Pour into a cup that has been warmed with boiled water

Note: