Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Questions and Answers
New Coffee Person...Breville SmartGrinder Question
Italian Biscotti Cookies
Premium artisan quality Italian Biscotti cookies. Many flavors!
www.espressozone.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Q and A > New Coffee...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
JerDGold

Expertise: I like coffee

Espresso: Rancilio Silvia
Grinder: Breville...
Drip: Chemex
Posted Wed Dec 11, 2013, 11:01pm
Subject: New Coffee Person...Breville SmartGrinder Question

So first things first, I'm new to the Home Coffee Bar world.  I am formerly an automatic coffee pot user with pre-ground Starbucks beans.  I made the decision about a month ago to switch to home-ground beans.  I didn't have a huge budget, so bought a Chemex and a Breville Smart Grinder, and am pouring with a Hario Buono V60.  I'm having a blast with the pour over method but am starting to second guess my grinder decision.  Since the Smart Grinder auto doses for me, I don't know how many grams I'm getting.  I would assume that changing the fine-ness of the grind, but not the dose amount (#of cups) would grind the same weight of bean, but I have no way of knowing.  I also have no way of altering the water portion of my dose based on grind type.  I feel like I'm flying blind with a pot full of hot water.  Anyone have advice on how to maintain consistent doses with a Breville Smart Grinder? Am I current in assuming that coffee weight wouldn't (shouldn't?) change with grind type?  I would love to hear from anyone with experience with this grinder.

Thanks for reading.  I'm having a blast, and can't wait to get up tomorrow morning and make coffee.

*Edit*