Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Questions and Answers
Sludge clogging my french press filter - help!
Cafe Solutions
Commercial sales and service, nationwide installation, equipment leasing options.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Q and A > Sludge clogging...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
summ3r

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Thu Jan 30, 2014, 1:23am
Subject: Sludge clogging my french press filter - help!

I've been using a Bodum french press for about 5 years.  I don't have a grinder, I get my coffee beans free from Sbucks (family member is a partner) and I get them to grind them for me.  Until today this system worked just fine.

2 weeks ago I moved to Tokyo, Japan for a 3 mth stay.  I brought a pound of my coffee beans from home and once I was settled I took it to my local Sbucks to get it ground.  While at the counter, I showed them a french press that they were selling, and asked them to grind the beans for a french press just like the one in my hand.  

The coffee has been fine.  I hadn't noticed an increase in the amount of sludge in my cup but then I stop pouring before I get to any sludge at the bottom of the press.  What I've noticed, just today, is that the mesh filter is starting to clog up.  Currently it's clogged all around the sides of the mesh, though the middle is still clear.  I've never had this problem before.  The mesh is too fine for anything I can do in my apartment to clean it and get rid of the clog.