Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Grinders - Espresso
trouble -- vario and new silvia NOT getting along...
Italian Coffee
Italian coffee beans, grinds and pods from Kimbo, LavAzza, Miscela d'Oro & Bristot. Qty. discounts!
www.espressozone.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Grinders -... > trouble -- vario...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
tejas

Expertise: I like coffee

Espresso: Silvia w/ PID
Grinder: Baratza Vario, KitchenAid...
Vac Pot: Hario and Yamas
Drip: Chemex
Roaster: popcorn poppers
Posted Sat Aug 28, 2010, 11:47am
Subject: trouble -- vario and new silvia NOT getting along...

Hi all,

I've been using the Vario for about 8 months now mostly with vacpots, and I absolutely love it. The grind's been awesome, and the dosing spot on.

I recently set up my new V3 Silvia a couple weeks ago, but I've had very little success so far. At first, the Vario was clearly calibrated too coarsely, so I manually calibrated it, so that the burrs lightly buzzed with the macro level all the way to the top and the micro level halfway.

Yet, I'm worried that the Vario still isn't grinding nearly fine enough for the Silvia.

Almost every shot I've pulled, especially in the beginning before calibration, has been a gusher. I really haven't been able to get to a 25 second shot at all. After calibration, I've still been running the Vario at its finest setting. I'm using a chopped off Rancilio portafilter and a flat Rattleware tamper.