Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Grinders - Espresso
virtuoso preciso vs rancilio rocky
Cafe Espresso Machines
Video reviews, nationwide installation, leasing options... Nuova Simonelli, Rancilio, La Marzocco.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Grinders -... > virtuoso preciso...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
drummer4gc

Expertise: I like coffee

Posted Mon Feb 21, 2011, 5:59pm
Subject: virtuoso preciso vs rancilio rocky

hey all,

i am new to the espresso game and still learning, so hopefully someone can help me with a little advice.

i found a great deal on a gaggia classic which i will likely be picking up soon. i have a kitchenaid proline grinder that i dont really like, and i know i'll need to upgrade to get some decent espresso results. i've been looking at both the baratza virtuoso preciso and the rancilio rocky.

i know the rocky is more established and has been around longer, while not many own the preciso yet so there are fewer people that can comment with firsthand experience. my guess is that most will say to go with the rocky for espresso, but i need a grinder that can do a wide range of grind size. i drink french press and drip coffee more often than i drink espresso, so i need to be able to do this. I've read that the rocky doesn't really get coarse enough for good press coffee - is this true? the preciso advertisements seem to suggest that they've put extra attention into the coarse side of the spectrum so that it can do excellent press. anyone have any experience with this?

thanks so much,
matt
 View Profile Link to this post
gmarrese91
gmarrese91
Expertise: I live coffee