Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Grinders - Espresso
Adjusting used Rocky?
Commercial Equipment
Nuova Simonelli, La Marzocco, Rancilio. Nationwide installation. Instant financing options.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Grinders -... > Adjusting used...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
jsantaniello

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Wed Jun 6, 2012, 1:44pm
Subject: Adjusting used Rocky?

I just picked up a used Rancilio Rocky for pretty cheap.

I'm new to quality grinders so I don't have any frame of reference, but I have my suspicions that this has been taken apart to be cleaned or the burrs replaced, and reassembled incorrectly.

I can turn the hopper counter-clockwise to what appears to be -17 without meeting any resistance. And at this finest setting, the grind is pretty coarse. Looks like it would be a nice Moka grind.

Looking at youtube videos about cleaning/changing burrs all seem to make reference to marking the burrs and holder to ensure proper reassembly. But how do I reassemble properly without knowing what the proper postion is?

I've ordered a new burr set, but I figured I'd give a clean a go while waiting for the set to arrive.

So how should I put it together right?

Thanks,

Joseph
 View Profile Link to this post
clumeng

Expertise: I live coffee

Espresso: Vivaldi II, 67 Cremina
Grinder: Vario, Maestro, Pharos
Vac Pot: Aeropress
Drip: Technivorm, Chemex
Posted Wed Jun 6, 2012, 2:15pm
Subject: Re: Adjusting used Rocky?