Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Grinders - Espresso
Upgrading Kitchenaid Proline grinder - what will the quality gonna be?
Cafe Espresso Machines
Video reviews, nationwide installation, leasing options... Nuova Simonelli, Rancilio, La Marzocco.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Grinders -... > Upgrading...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
Neoa70

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Sun Apr 13, 2014, 10:43am
Subject: Upgrading Kitchenaid Proline grinder - what will the quality gonna be?

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to the espresso business and need your advice. A few month ago I bought a used Kitchenaid Proline espresso machine for $150 (little used!). Since my budget is limited, I started off with a blade grinder, went on to a cheep Krups burr grinder which I tweaked with shims to get a finer grind. With the Krups I now actually make worse espresso than with the blade grinder! Well, I realized I have to upgrade, but again my budget is limited. I have the chance to buy a used Kitchenaid Proline grinder for $65. I have read about the mods of fitting Mazzer Mini burrs and making it stepless and would end up that way with about $170 for the modified grinder.
My question to anybody, especially the guy's that have done the modification, in what quality range will I end up? Comparable to a Lelit PL-53? or a Iberital Challenge (the $300 class)? Or better than that?

Thanks,

Stefan
 View Profile Link to this post
EricBNC
EricBNC

Espresso: QM Silvano, LP Stradivarius,...
Grinder: K30, Major, Preciso, Pharos,...
Vac Pot: Sunbeam C30, Bodum Santos...
Drip: Bonavita BV-1800,...
Roaster: Behmor, Melitta, Fresh...
Posted Sun Apr 13, 2014, 10:48am