Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Lever Espresso Machines
upgrade from Caravel?
Cafe Espresso Machines
Video reviews, nationwide installation, leasing options... Nuova Simonelli, Rancilio, La Marzocco.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Lever Espresso > upgrade from...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
alekk
alekk
Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Sun Feb 17, 2013, 12:46pm
Subject: upgrade from Caravel?

Hi all,

I have been playing with an Europiccola for a few months: while this is a great machine and I have learnt a lot from it, I grew quite tired of the lack of reproducibility of my espressos. I did manage to get some very nice shots but my kitchen sink also drank quite a large amount of bitter coffee these last few months. I even thought of installing a PID controller, but thinking (a lot) about it I am not really sure that this is a good idea. I only drink a few cups of espresso (i.e no milk etc..) every day so the whole idea of heating up water at quite a high temperature in a pressurized boiler for then send it to the group with the hope that just enough heat will go away in order to get a nice 94-96 temperature drives me mad.

Indeed, this led me to the purchase of another toy: a stylish Caravel arrived in the kitchen. This is indeed a beautifully simple and functional machine. I stick a thermometer in the open boiler, wait a few minutes before getting the exact temperature I want, flush a few times, get a wonderful ristretto. It is simple, the temperature is very stable, I can easily reproduce the results I get, the espresso is good. So far, so good!