Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Lever Espresso Machines
First Real Machine
Support Coffee Kids
Coffee Kids is a non profit charity working with farming communities around the world. Donate today!
www.coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Lever Espresso > First Real...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
Shinok

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Tue Feb 19, 2013, 2:11pm
Subject: First Real Machine

Hi Everyone,

I'm just getting into the hobby and was hoping for some advice. I've been skimming the forums and have got some great stuff to work with but figured I'd start a thread and not hijack another.

I have been making latte's for a few months but I know there is definite room for improvement. My wife likes how they come out but we're using a cheap Delonghi "espresso" maker that has a plastic steam head for easier frothing. I've gotten fairly good at utilizing what I have but the espresso lacks (none of the rich crema etc) and although I get that decent wet paint look from the milk, it always feels too thin and never gives me enough to do any sort of latte art (not really that necessary :p)

My problem is that when I get into a hobby, I like to do it right the first time and like the more traditional aspects when available, which has led me to the manual side of things. I know there will definitely be a learning curve but am I better off sinking money into a manual machine or will I get similar results from one of the automatics? Budget is probably going to be under $1,000 until I can really justify higher so I was looking at the La Pavoni's to start (Stradavari is on amazon for $810)