Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Lever Espresso Machines
Double pull on MCAL invariably destroys the puck.
Cafe Solutions
Commercial sales and service, nationwide installation, equipment leasing options.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Lever Espresso > Double pull on...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
Pendel
Pendel
Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: MCAL & Cremina
Grinder: Macap M4
Posted Thu Feb 13, 2014, 6:00am
Subject: Double pull on MCAL invariably destroys the puck.

I am an eager lever machine newbie with a new to me 2010 Electra MCAL and Macap M4 grinder.
I have been using 13-16 gm (digital scale measured) of coffee in a double MCAL basket with a bottomless Penney portafilter.
I have tried several coffee varieties, including Bali (blue moon) and Espresso Blend (dark and oily, so only tried a couple of shots) from Fair Mountain; Espresso Classico, Espresso Nuevo and Mexico Santa Teresa Espresso SO from Paradise; all tamped from very light to 30 lbs with a US curve 49.4 mm tamper.
Tried various grind fineness as well.
No matter what I do, the second pull of the lever destroys the puck and gushes/spews coffee, often in all kinds of directions out of the (bottom) of the portafilter.
I tried the second full pull, half pull, even a third-of-a-pull, starting at various stages of the first pull release.
Can't seem to get this second pull technique to work.
Would those of you who have mastered a double on MCAL please, please, please enlighten me on how to "pull this off" properly?

Cheers and thanks!

:-)
 View Profile Link to this post
DanoM

Espresso: Bezzera Strega, '84 La...
Grinder: Compak K10, Kludge grinder,...