Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Newbie here, what is difference between espresso, capuccino, and latte?
Commercial Equipment
Nuova Simonelli, La Marzocco, Rancilio. Nationwide installation. Instant financing options.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Newbie here,...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
Jimmy325

Expertise: Beginner

Posted Mon Jun 30, 2003, 12:43pm
Subject: Newbie here, what is difference between espresso, capuccino, and latte?

Can someone tell me what the difference are between the 3 beverages?  Difference in foam or milk?

Thanks!

Jimmy
 View Profile Link to this post
jim_schulman
jim_schulman
Expertise: I live coffee
Posted Mon Jun 30, 2003, 1:29pm
Subject: Re: Newbie here, what is difference between espresso, capuccino, and latte?

Here's the drinks with no milk:

• Espresso is the straight shot of coffee, roughly 1 ounce for a single, 2 ounces for a double, served in a small cup. The amount of water can be varied. A Ristretto has about 1/2 to 2/3 the water of a regular shot, and a more intense, but slightly less bitter taste. A Lungo has 1 1/2 to 2 times the water and a weaker taste. Properly extracted it tastes only slightly more bitter.

• Americano is a straight shot of espresso pulled into 4 ounces of water. It is the espresso machine approximation of regular coffee.

• Cafe Crema is 5 to 6 ounces drawn through the portofilter, a sort of super-lungo. It is the Swiss variant on the Americano, and somewhat more popular in most of Europe. In many places, it is displacing regular coffee.

Here's the drinks with milk: