Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Help Needed between choosing the Silvia and Oscar?
Donate to Coffee Kids
Coffee Kids works with farming communities around the world, improving lives. Donate today.
www.coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Help Needed...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 3 last page next page
Author Messages
Coffeeismypoison

Expertise: I live coffee

Espresso: Quickmill Anita
Grinder: Macap 4
Posted Sun Oct 25, 2009, 11:05pm
Subject: Help Needed between choosing the Silvia and Oscar?

Hello All,

Although I am new to Coffee Geek, I share the same passion as you all where a bad coffee is inexcusable and a good brew is a daily ritual and my firm belief that decaf drinkers should drink Herbal Tea or some form of waste water? Not quite politically correct but hey it’s coffee we are talking about which at one time was considered an evil drink and some jokers considered it bad for health.

I live in New Zealand and though there are a few machines available, the variety is quite limited? I do have budget of NZ$1400 which would buy the following machines

• Oscar (Although that is a $200 more I am inclined towards this)
• Rancilio Silvia (Second favourite)
• Gaggia Baby Twin
• Ascaso Dream (not the POD one)

I am heavily inclined towards the Oscar after doing my research for the following reasons

• HX component
• Larger boiler compared to the Silvia
• No need for a PID on an HX machine
• I believe the pressure stat used to be an issue but not sure if it is fixed in the new machines?