Espresso: Espresso Machines
Help with purchase:La Valentina or Wega Lyra or ECM Giotto Premium&Semi or Auto
Stefano's Espresso Care
Repair - Parts - Sales
Factory Authorized &
Trained Technician
www.espressocare.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Help with...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 5 last page next page
Author Messages
mdrei

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Thu Apr 8, 2004, 2:13pm
Subject: Help with purchase:La Valentina or Wega Lyra or ECM Giotto Premium&Semi or Auto

I'm a researcher (by hobby and trade).  I've enjoyed this hunt for the right machine but just as I'm about to finalize my decision on purchasing La Valentina I am teased by the Wega and ECM units.   I'm interested mainly in the details of the guts.  I'm stuggling with determining the differences in components (type and quality) and the inter-connects (plastics or metals).  I'm also influenced by ergonomics and I can't ignore aesthetics.

Also, is the tough decision on the advantages and disadvantages between auto's and semi's.  It appears that the auto has the flexibility to funtion as a semi.  If so, than I believe I would prefer that flexibility unless I'm convinced otherwise.

I realize there is a price differential with this selection above and I'm willing to shell out the extra beans for the 'right' machine.

I'm sure there are lots of opinions and I'm willing to read all comers.  I just not interested in joining a movement or a rebellion against 'the establishment'; I just want info to help me get the 'best' machine for my $1000+.
 View Profile Link to this post
strugs
strugs
Expertise: I live coffee

Espresso: Vincent Wega (Wega Lyra)
Grinder: Jules (Mazzer Mini)
Vac Pot: Hario TCA-5
Drip: Tray
Roaster: 49th and/or Intelly