Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Estro Profi?
Coffee Kids
Help folks who help folks in coffee producing nations.
coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Estro Profi?  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
HugoYugoWego
HugoYugoWego
Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: Francis! Francis! X5
Posted Sun Apr 17, 2011, 11:10pm
Subject: Estro Profi?

Hi all,

I'm new to coffeegeek though I have frequented the site over the years and have always found the info I needed. Thanks.

I bought a Francis! Francis! X5 5 years ago, and it does what it's supposed to for the most part. I usually look but don't touch when it comes to more gear. However, this weekend at an estate sale I picked up a white Estro Profi dated on bottom from February 1995 (No Saeco logo). I paid 30 bucks for it. I liked the way it looked,like Texas Instruments made a calculator/ speak n' spell/ espresso machine. And it actually felt fairly substantial to me regarding its build. Everything seems to be in working order, and, in some ways, it seems like it has a better/more powerful steamer than I'm accustomed to. The rub is that it's missing its portafilter.

I've been reading up on people's experiences with the Estro Profi- most people love it in 2001 and kinda hate it in 2011. Minus the aesthetics for me, is this a machine worth chasing the rabbit down the hole about? The portafilter is between $50 and $80. And honestly if I had known anything about it being the proto-Starbucks machine, I probably would have passed.