Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Noob advice on machine
Rancilio Silvia - How to
Step by step guide for easy brewing and steaming with the Rancilio Silvia
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Noob advice on...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
Thedude27

Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: Isomac TEA II
Grinder: Baratza Vario 885
Roaster: Collection of Poppery II's
Posted Fri Nov 18, 2011, 6:49pm
Subject: Noob advice on machine

Help :) i'm new at this and naively thought I could just buy a "good" machine that has a 15 bar pump, and be done with it.  I had no idea how much there is to consider.
I wore out the cheapo steam unit I had several years ago and was really missing having an espresso machine and now I want to get something that
is capable of professional quality results. I'm a home roaster so I figured what a great time to get a machine since I can get such a nice variety of fresh beans.

I've been trying to figure out what the I want for an "entry level" machine (I guess thats what you call them in the alternate
universe of espresso machines when you are spending a thousand dollars on one and call that "entry level".)

My requirements are that I would like a machine with the ability to create back to back milk drinks when company comes over and I don't
want to make an ordeal out of the process (meaning no huge recovery times for each drink). I entertain quite a bit and generally have quite a few ppl over.
Also I work from a home office and drink coffee all day so it would get a fair bit of use through the day.