Espresso: Espresso Machines
Single Basket 14g !!! is it me?!
Stefano's Espresso Care
Repair - Parts - Sales
Factory Authorized &
Trained Technician
www.espressocare.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Single Basket...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
laythss

Expertise: I live coffee

Espresso: La Cimbali M23
Grinder: La Cimbali junior
Posted Sun Jul 1, 2012, 3:07am
Subject: Single Basket 14g !!! is it me?!

I am confused. I have a commercial La cimbali M27 machine, and it came with two portafilters, one with a single spout, and another with a double spout. also it came with a supposedly single, double and a blind basket. As i was discovering the machine and a new roasted coffee, i noticed that i have to put quite a bit of ground coffee into the single basket to be able to distribute it and then tamp it.  So i decided to double check this. my finding is that the single basket takes between 14-16g of ground coffee!! i thought singles take between 6-9g . my double takes 18-20g which i guess is the right amount. am i measuring this wrong? is this not a single basket(somewhere between a single and a double)? is it a extra capacity single basket?

Note, i am able to pull a proper shot with the basket (or so i think)... around 1oz is 26-28 seconds, sometimes with tiger stripes.

i posted the pictures on :
http://www.whitefoam.me/cgindex.html
 View Profile Link to this post
emradguy
emradguy

Espresso: Duetto II; Twist v2
Grinder: M Major, Macap M4, Pharos,...
Drip: Espro presses; Aeropress
Roaster: H-B "List of Favorites"
Posted Sun Jul 1, 2012, 6:29am
Subject: Re: Single Basket 14g !!! is it me?!