Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Need help in deciding between the Gaggia classic and the Saeco Via Venezia
Support Coffee Kids
Coffee Kids is a non profit charity working with farming communities around the world. Donate today!
www.coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Need help in...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 3 last page next page
Author Messages
BrookNYC

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Tue Nov 20, 2012, 1:53pm
Subject: Need help in deciding between the Gaggia classic and the Saeco Via Venezia

This will be my first espresso machine. I am a complete novice and would like to start out simple at first. My one must have is that it must have a pressurized portafilter because my husband will NOT even attempt to tamp. I would also like to stay under $500. I plan on using espresso grinds until I can buy a good grinder. Both my husband and I prefer lattes if that makes a difference when choosing a machine. I would prefer a model that will not break down within the first 3 years.

After tons of research I narrowed my list  down between the Saeco Via Venezia and the Gaggia classic. Which one is best in your opinion?
 View Profile Link to this post
Coffeenoobie
Coffeenoobie
Expertise: I like coffee

Espresso: N S Oscar
Grinder: K30 & Vario W
Posted Tue Nov 20, 2012, 2:12pm
Subject: Re: Need help in deciding between the Gaggia classic and the Saeco Via Venezia

I would probably get the gaggia over the saeco new.  But really if I were in your shoes, I would look for a used saeco for 80-100 on craigslist.  Then spend the rest of the money on a good grinder.

Coffeenoobie