Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Just "won" a Silvia; need advice on a grinder (and then some)
Italian Biscotti Cookies
Premium artisan quality Italian Biscotti cookies. Many flavors!
www.espressozone.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Just "won" a...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
ethom

Expertise: I like coffee

Espresso: NS Oscar, Silvia broken :o(
Grinder: Vario
Drip: Bosch
Posted Sun Nov 25, 2012, 10:59pm
Subject: Just "won" a Silvia; need advice on a grinder (and then some)

Hi all,
I'm new to the Coffee Geek site and looking for some help from you who are so passionate about coffee and the equipment to make it.
After having decided, after much research, on a new Gaggia Classic on sale in November at $349, I looked at used machines on eBay and in a nighttime fit of excitement, bid on and won a Rancilio Silvia (a V2 from what I can tell).  Many reviews of the Classic referenced the Silvia as the class standard making the extra ~$80 sound worthwhile (at least in my state of enthusiasm at the time).  
Here are my questions:
  1. Which grinder should I pair with the Silvia?  The Gaggia MDF is available for $199 new through November at least and a refurb Rancilio Rocky can be had now for $269.  I'm preferring a doser-less model to grind just what I need making the Rocky look like a better bet.  Plenty of more expensive and better grinders are out there, but will they deliver the value of the added cost?