Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
NS Oscar..Microfoam..Group head temperature..
Find the Right Machine...
Package deals on the best machines from Izzo, Quick Mill, Rocket, La Marzocco & more.
www.clivecoffee.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > NS...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 7 last page next page
Author Messages
marksworld

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Sat Nov 24, 2007, 10:21pm
Subject: NS Oscar..Microfoam..Group head temperature..

Greetings all..I am fairly new to coffee (my wife has been a barista for 2 years.) but we just purchased a Nuova Simonelli Oscar.  We have had it for 2 days, and for the life of me I can't make microfoam.  I tried and tried, and finally had my wife try, and she couldn't do it either.  I met her at work yesterday, and she made microfoam 3 out of 3 times on the commercial Rancilio they have.

My first question is, are people successfully making microfoam with the Oscar?  If so what is the secret?  My wife and I are also having a hard time "spinning" the milk in the pitcher (which could be why we aren't creating microfoam).  I'ts no problem at the store she works at, that thing spins milk like crazy almost throwing it out of the pitcher.  Does our oscar wand not have enough pressure ?  Or is it these tips?  WE ARE BAFFLED

Second, I measured the temperature of the water coming out of the group head and its staying a consistent 160 degrees.  Am I wrong or is it supposed to be in the 200 degree range?  160 does not seem hot enough at all!

Being this is my first post, I thought I would sound like the biggest newb ever.  Be easy on me.

:)

Mark
 View Profile Link to this post
mitchellb