Espresso: Espresso Machines
Dualit Espressivo and a noob to coffee
Stefano's Espresso Care
Repair - Parts - Sales
Factory Authorized &
Trained Technician
www.espressocare.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Dualit...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
Craigo5000

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Tue Mar 12, 2013, 4:46am
Subject: Dualit Espressivo and a noob to coffee

Hi all,

As a complete noob, I'm just getting into my coffee. Coming from filter and straight milk from the fridge but preferring the creamy crema and smoothness of espresso and sometimes with frothed milk. I thought it was a wise investment to buy the Dualit Espressivo, 120 on offer - practically the same machine as a Gaggia Cubika Plus but with free stainless jug for the milk, tamper and 3 PF baskets. (1 for ESE pods, 1 x 1 shot and 1 x 2 shot)

I've gotten great results with the limited time I've had with this machine. I've used a pro machine (worth a few grand) which we had in our old workplace so I know the theory of good coffee but I'm here to learn more!

1. The instructions state that if using ground coffee, I must use a "use once" paper filter in the basket before levelling with coffee. The PF metal baskets have lots of holes on the inside but only one on the outside which actually lets light through? How can this be and if it's the case, why should I use a paper filter? If the basket get's blocked, I can use the supplied basket pins to pierce the one hole on the outside again!?

2. The crema. This seems okay, but is a little yellow. It's thick though and doesn't seem to under or over extract. Though I am using pre-packed Italian coffee which is only 85% Aribica. Tastes good!