Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Getting Via Venezia temperature correct
Support Coffee Kids
Coffee Kids is a non profit charity working with farming communities around the world. Donate today!
www.coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Getting Via...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
ajellyb

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Thu Mar 28, 2013, 11:57am
Subject: Getting Via Venezia temperature correct

Hi all,

I've been using a Via Venezia for the past 8 months or so. Obviously getting a consistent temperature is a bit tough. I'm using a non-pressurized portafilter.

One thing I noticed is that when I pull a shot the "ready" light turns off about 5 seconds into the shot. I am guessing that this means the water temp for the final 15-20 seconds is low. A lot of my shots are inconsistent, with a sourness to them (also indicating, I believe, that the water temp is low).

I have tried running the pump for about 3 seconds before pulling  a shot. This causes the "ready" light to turn off....and then turn  back on 10-15 seconds later. I have been using that time to prep the pf. But even so the shot never pulls before the ready light turns off.

I'm usually letting the machine warm up for 60+ minutes before pulling the shots.

Any suggestions for a more consistent temp?
 View Profile Link to this post
Burner0000

Expertise: Professional

Espresso: Rancilio Silvia, VFA Expres...
Grinder: Macap MX/VFA N1464/Kyocera...
Drip: Manual Drip, French Press
Roaster: Behmor 1600 / Sonofresco
Posted Thu Mar 28, 2013, 12:10pm
Subject: Re: Getting Via Venezia temperature correct