Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Need Help With Breville Barista Express Settings Please!
Grey Seal Coffee
We Roast Exceptional Coffee. See Our Brew Guides And Our Coffee Courses. 10% off with 'coffeegeek'!
greysealcoffee.co.uk

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Need Help With...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 7 last page next page
Author Messages
jonbik

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Sun Apr 21, 2013, 7:01am
Subject: Need Help With Breville Barista Express Settings Please!

Hello,
    Yesterday, i got a Breville Barista Express. I am not particularly new to brewing coffee but i am new to the Breville series. I am trying to become familiar with the integrated grinder. I have been mostly using the Pressurized Double walled Baskets. There is a setting on the grinder all the way to the left just for the double walled baskets. There is also a setting all the way to the left for the amount of coffee that it will grind just for the double walled baskets. With these baskets, i get a consistent shot, but it is only average quality. Sometimes it flows a little bit fast and seems to be under extracted and bitter.  I would like to try to use the single walled baskets. The coarseness on the grinder goes from 1 (coarse) to 16 (fine). I would like to ask anyone that is familiar with this machine, what settings should i put it on for the single walled baskets? I feel like i apply a consistent 25-30 pound tamp. I think i have the right amount of coffee in it, but my shot usually comes out bitter when i use the single walled baskets. Should i just use the pressurized baskets and change the grind?
 View Profile Link to this post
OttoMatic