Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
New user searching for the best machine for 200$. New, refurbished or used?
Learn @seattlecoffeegear
Learn all about coffee, watch videos, read how-to articles.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > New user...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
johnd89

Expertise: Just starting

Espresso: Carezza
Grinder: SM95
Drip: phin, mokapot, frenchpress,...
Posted Tue Jun 3, 2008, 6:50pm
Subject: New user searching for the best machine for 200$. New, refurbished or used?

Hi,

Newbie here: right now I have a cheap kenmore burr grinder and a couple bialetti stovetops plus a drip machine...

Total budget is 350$
The plan is to buy a maestro plus grinder and a 200$ tops espresso  machine to get my started. I'm narrowing down to the carezza machine (new).

Should I look into a more expensive but refurbished or used machine which is substantially better?

what about a machine which has the grinder built-in?
Click Here (cgi.ebay.com)
or
http://www.wholelattelove.com/Espressione/cafe_roma.cfm

Any advice is welcome!
PS: I understand those may be the questions everyone asks, just wanted to make sure I'm not doing anything dumb here;-)

J
 View Profile Link to this post
TimEggers
TimEggers
Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: QM Anita, Cappuccino Amore
Grinder: Baratza Vario, Mazzer SJ
Vac Pot: Antique McKee, Santos
Drip: Pour Over, Bodum Presses
Roaster: RK Drum
Posted Tue Jun 3, 2008, 9:40pm
Subject: Re: New user searching for the best machine for 200$. New, refurbished or used?

Hi John!  First welcome to coffeegeek its great to have you with us.