Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Vibe Pump Pressure Variation
Cafe Espresso Machines
Video reviews, nationwide installation, leasing options... Nuova Simonelli, Rancilio, La Marzocco.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Vibe Pump...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
s445203

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Fri Jan 17, 2014, 9:43am
Subject: Vibe Pump Pressure Variation

Greetings everyone.  I'm a newbie and this is my first post, so please be gentle with me ;-)

I got curious about espresso and how it's made and have spent the past few days reading up.  I've got to a question which bugs the hell out of me and hope you can help.  I'll start with what I understand so far.

The process of making espresso requires passing water at the right temperature (90-96C) and at the right pressure (8 to 10 bar) at the right flow rate (60ml per 20-40s roughly) through a puck of coffee.  Now as far as I can tell, the puck is essentially the place where the pressure drops from the brew pressure down to the atmospheric pressure of your espresso cup - i.e. when you say "brew at X bar" it means "make the pressure drop across your puck equal X bar for the duration hot water flows through the puck".

How is this pressure drop generated?  Well, it seems the vast majority (by number) espresso machines use an Ulka vibratory pump.  How does this pump make pressure?  As near as I can figure it out, there's a little piston that moves in an out at the AC supply frequency, which each piston actuation forcing a small amount of water from the low pressure water reservoir into the high pressure brew supply.