Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
De longhi ec155 questions
Learn @seattlecoffeegear
Learn all about coffee, watch videos, read how-to articles.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > De longhi ec155...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
arrrmand

Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: DeLonghi EC155
Grinder: Baratza Encore
Posted Sun Mar 16, 2014, 9:40am
Subject: De longhi ec155 questions

Hi, I'm very new to the espresso making world, but not new to the coffee world. Little did I realize how many variables need to be perfect to make that perfect cappuccino.

I recently got a De Longhi EC155 and have a bunch of questions that I'll try to consolidate below:

1. Since it's pressurized, how important is the tamp? I tried the depressuring mod and didn't notice too much of a difference with my espresso shots.

2. I've had issues with inconsistent grinds since day 1. I recently got a Baratza Encore grinder and am still trying to find the sweet spot for espresso settings (8 is too coarse..brought it down to 6 with slightly better results). Does anyone else have this combo to speak for the best setting?

3. My milk frothing has been inconsistent at best. How important is using whole milk and what are the best techniques with the wand without any modifications? Lately, I feel my milk has been coming out watery.