Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Help with making a choice (beginner)
Home Espresso Machines
Watch videos with Gail & Kat, Rocket, Jura Capresso, Saeco, Rancilio, Quick Mill, Nespresso
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Help with making...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
mkdsl

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Tue Mar 18, 2014, 7:06pm
Subject: Help with making a choice (beginner)

Hello everyone, first time here. I'm a student and looking to get my feet wet with brewing espresso at home.
My budget and choice are both  severely limited, but I looked around and judging by what I saw here, I THINK I'm going in the right direction with my starting gear.
I plan on grabbing Gaggia Evolution from my local dealer here. For start, I plan on using store-ground espresso from my local coffee shop ( I think I'll be able to persuade them to grind it for me, I'm buying their coffee after all) before I get my hands on the Gaggia MDF.
Now comes my question, since I'm a total noob about this things.
First off, how does Gaggia Evolution compare to Saeco Poemia? I can get the Poemia for a bit cheaper, and I can write a checkque (delayed payment will make my life easier, espresso machine is a big investment since I live in eastern Europe). As far as I can understand, they both have options for both pressurized and unpressurized portafilters - correct me if I'm wrong here.

Second, how do the grinders like Krups GVX 242 rank compared to Gaggia MDF? I can presume that the answer would be "not so well" or worse, but I'm on a strict budget here, and MDF is really stretching it.
 View Profile Link to this post
jliedeka
jliedeka