Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Questions and Answers
Espresso - can it be that hard?
Home Espresso Machines
Watch videos with Gail & Kat, Rocket, Jura Capresso, Saeco, Rancilio, Quick Mill, Nespresso
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Q and A > Espresso - can...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
fancy_pilot

Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: Saeco Classico
Grinder: Gaggia MDF
Posted Wed Oct 17, 2007, 5:25pm
Subject: Espresso - can it be that hard?

I need some advice on how to suggest improvements in the espresso and cappucino of my usual coffee house.   I am no expert, as I have never made an espresso or cappucino for myself (aside from using my parents el-cheapo pressure unit a few years back), but have been reading these forums and have been drinking espresso and cappucinos from 4-5 different places regularly for the past couple of months.  The problem is that one place is MUCH more convient for me to go to, but has some of the lowest quality.  

The part that doesn't make sense to me is that the best cappucinos and espressos come from the place where there ALWAYS seems to be a new high school or college kid working, but it doesn't seem to matter.  I can order and it always seems to come out the same - espresso flavor good, a decent crema (on straights), and smooth creamy microfoam on the cappucino.  How can they keep getting it right, when the my regular place with a 50+ year old owner/barista has inconsistent shots and gigantic foam.