Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Questions and Answers
Constant 15 second Silvia shots
Learn @seattlecoffeegear
Learn all about coffee, watch videos, read how-to articles.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Q and A > Constant 15...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
numbers1thru9

Expertise: I like coffee

Posted Thu Feb 2, 2012, 7:29pm
Subject: Constant 15 second Silvia shots

Hello all, I have been trying to find a forum to ask this and I cant believe I never found these before. First off I am new to making my own espresso shots but get the idea of what I should do. So heres the deal, I have the Silvia V3 with the Gaggia MDF grinder. Currently my grinder is on setting 3 (started around 4 after watching a video on WLL that recommended this range) and i grind beans to fill up the portafilter. I scrap off the excess and give a nice tamp to start, followed by a quick N, S, W, E pattern along the walls to ensure that it is sealing. I followed the video here on how to temp surf with the silvia and it seems that no matter what I change, grind setting, tamp pressure, temp surfing, anything, I have only gotten 1 good 25 second shot. The rest always seem to flow at 15 seconds... I cant figure it out and its driving me nuts because I have changed practically everything. I followed the exact procedure that got me the 25 second shot and pulled a 15 second shot... Im so confused. That is why im seeking the knowledge of all you espresso masters here in the land of coffeegeeks :) If anyone can help me figure out what Im doing wrong it would be seriously appreciated! Thanks in advance!

--Ryan