Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Questions and Answers
Steamed Milk vs Froth vs Foam vs Textured Milk etc.
Home Espresso Machines
Watch videos with Gail & Kat, Rocket, Jura Capresso, Saeco, Rancilio, Quick Mill, Nespresso
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Q and A > Steamed Milk vs...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
AJM

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Sun Sep 9, 2012, 12:10am
Subject: Steamed Milk vs Froth vs Foam vs Textured Milk etc.

I am very new to owning an espresso machine, and I am learning how to "steam" milk. My first attempts resulted in hot milk that was still very watery. I have now progressed to the point where the milk volume increases, and I have about 2/3 section of hot milk and 1/3 section of "micro foam" which appears very much like meringue. I have watched many videos on steaming milk for cappuccino or latte drinks, and they all seem to have slightly different results. Some appear to be very similar to what I am achieving (thick and thin layers) and others seem to have a thick pourable result that seems uniform. Many of the videos I have watched show a cappuccino being made with espresso, thin hot milk, then a spoon of foam on the top. This I can do with good results. Other videos show a cappuccino being made with espresso and a thick creamy steamed milk that pours in a way that they can draw "art" on the surface of the drink. It looks more like what I would think a latte would look like.