Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Questions and Answers
Espresso Extraction - HELP!
Find the Right Machine...
Package deals on the best machines from Izzo, Quick Mill, Rocket, La Marzocco & more.
www.clivecoffee.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Q and A > Espresso...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
RedSnapper

Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: C.M.A SME./2-LS
Grinder: Mazzer Super Jolly AUT
Posted Thu Jan 3, 2013, 12:51pm
Subject: Espresso Extraction - HELP!

I'm new to this so please be gentle........

I need some help with the basics. I'm looking at 'dialing in' my machine. I currently use traditional variables of 14g dose with extraction of roughly 21 seconds (currently using Segafredo Buono beans but looking to change once I bottom this out). I weighed the Brew Weight and it was 56g (we use an automatic machine).

So.....I've been doing a bit of reading about this and some places say that the desired Brew Weight is 2oz which equates to 56.7g. Which I've got!

However, I did some training in London and the guy spoke about Brew Ratio. They were using 18g dose and a Brew Ratio of 1.55 which gives a Brew Weight of 27.9g which is 1oz or half of what the other theory is! With the extraction I've got now it means a Brew Ratio of 4 which is massively different.

So, which one is the right method so I can move on to the next stage?

Thanks in advance,

James
 View Profile Link to this post
frank828

Expertise: Professional

Posted Thu Jan 3, 2013, 1:10pm
Subject: Re: Espresso Extraction - HELP!

how does it taste?  

if i were to guess from your numbers, probably sour, thin, watery?