Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Questions and Answers
Shot to slow/fast
Support Coffee Kids
Coffee Kids is a non profit charity working with farming communities around the world. Donate today!
www.coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Q and A > Shot to...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
Mitchedu

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Thu Feb 21, 2013, 3:51pm
Subject: Shot to slow/fast

Good day,

I am a struggling beginner so forgive my lack of knowledge. I am having some issues with my new breville bes830xl. This is an "upgrade" to my recently broken down delonghi ec702. My grinder is a rancillio rocky. With the delonghi and grind level set to 10 (using unpressurized double basket) I was getting 24 second pulls with freshly roasted beans from a local roaster.   I received my breville 2 days ago and tried it with the same beans, same grind level and once again an unpressurized double basket. My pull was 11 seconds. I should also state that I am filling the basket to the top and using a precalibrated tamper to tamp 30lbs down approx 1/8th of an inch. I next started adjusting my grind down one step at a time eventually choking he machine out at 3. I found level 5-6 game me about 21 seconds with decent crema but for some reason it tasted like bitter a$$.  My question is has anyone with similar equipment found a happy medium with grind fineness and pouring time ??? I realize the pump is probably stronger than my delonghi, but I found the delonghi easier to find the sweet spot... Any help would be appreciated. Ps lots of good helpful tips in these forums, thanks!!!
 View Profile Link to this post
calblacksmith
calblacksmith
Expertise: I live coffee