Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Questions and Answers
Watery Latte/Cappuccinos
Learn @seattlecoffeegear
Learn all about coffee, watch videos, read how-to articles.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Q and A > Watery...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
arrrmand

Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: DeLonghi EC155
Grinder: Baratza Encore
Posted Sun Mar 16, 2014, 9:32am
Subject: Watery Latte/Cappuccinos

I'm new to the coffee making world with a De Longhi EC155 espresso maker and a Baratza Encore grinder. I've been doing a ton of research online but figure it's best to come on to this forum to see if anyone can give me advice.

Lately, my cappuccinos and lattes have been coming out a bit watery. I'm pulling shots (25ish seconds for about 2 oz) with plenty of crema, so I think the problem is with my milk frothing. At first when I got the machine, it seems that my drinks were coming out a lot better, but lately they haven't.

Could this be because I'm using 2% milk now, rather than whole?

My frothing technique is to froth cold milk in a cold pitcher (straight out of the fridge) until the pitcher gets too hot to hold by hand. Frothing wand is about 1/4 in and I get the swirl of the milk while it's frothing. End result is something that doesn't quite have the consistency of paint, but still looking thicker than cold milk, with a little bit of microfoam.

Based on this, do you think my espresso shots are coming out too watery, or is it my milk technique?
 View Profile Link to this post
brianl

Espresso: Gaggia Classic (w/PID)
Grinder: Baratza Vario
Drip: chemex
Posted Mon Mar 17, 2014, 6:33am